Group Photo January 2024


Postdoc position available in ultrafast spectroscopy

Huang group is seeking a postdoctoral candidate to explore the structure-function analysis of quantum gels and porous crystalline materials (e.g. COFs and MOFs) for solar energy conversion. The successful candidate will pursue research on the correlation of the structure of these materials with their photophysical properties and photocatalytic function using state of the art techniques such as time resolved optical spectroscopy, time resolved X-ray absorption spectroscopy, and in situ X-ray absorption techniques. Please send your CV to Dr. Huang ( if you are interested in this position.


New Paper Accepted

Our paper on “Control Over Charge Separation by Imine Structural Isomerization in Covalent Organic Frameworks with Implications on CO2 Photoreduction” was accepted into JACS. Congratulations to Daniel and the rest of the team!


New Graduate Student Joins Huang Group

Welcome Jialin Shen to Huang research group. Jialin will work on DOE supported COF and quantum gel projects.


New Undergraduate Students Joined Huang Group

Welcome Alexandra Deichmann, Artemis Christeas, Lily Tull, and Gabrielle Thorbur to Huang Group.


New Paper Accepted

Our collaborative paper “Manipulating Photoconduction in Cu-pyrene 1-D Coordination Nanosheets by Modulating Interlayer π-π Stacking” with Prof. Jens Neu at UNT and Prof. Gary Brudvig at Yale was accepted into J. Phys. Chem. C. Congratulations to the teams!


Congratulations to James Nyakuchena for successful dissertation defense

In the image Daniel (left) and James (right)


Alumni & Friends Event

Dr. Huang serves as the panelist in BC alumni event on Addressing Climate Change and Turning Ideas into World Changing Companies


New Paper Accepted

Our collaborative paper “Electronic Tuning of Photoexcited Dynamics in Heteroleptic Cu(I) Complex Photosensitizers” with Dr. Cunming Liu and Dr. Xiaoyi Zhang at Argonne National Laboratory was accepted into J. Phys. Chem. Lett. Congratulations to Denan and the rest of the team.


New Paper Accepted

Our collaborative paper “Dominant Role of Hole Transport Pathway in Achieving Record High Photoconductivity in Two-Dimensional Metal-Organic Frameworks” with Prof. Jens Neu at UNT and Prof. Gary Brudvig at Yale has been accepted to Angewadte Chemie. Congratulations to Denan and the rest of the team.


New Paper Accepted

Our collaborative paper “Postsynthetic Modification of Nonanuclear Node in Zirconium Metal-Organic Framework for Photocatalytic Oxidation of Hydrocarbons” with Dr. Jian Zhang at LBNL has been accepted to JACS.

September 14, 2023

Congratulations to Humphrey for successful dissertation defense


New Undergraduate Student Joins Huang Group

Welcome Anna O’Brien as the first undergraduate student in Huang group at BC. Anna will work with Shahrzad on the NSF supported single atom catalyst project

September 5, 2023

 Dr. Liangji Chen joins group

Welcome Dr. Liangji Chen as a new postdoctoral fellow of Huang group. Dr. Chen will work on a DOE supported project: COFs as photocatalytic materials for solar fuel conversion


New Graduate Student Joins Huang Group

Welcome Shahrzad Radpour to Huang group. Shahrzad will work on supported single atom catalyst and conductive MOF projects

July 16, 2023

 Dr. Denan Wang leaves group

Postdoc researcher Dr. Denan Wang has departed the group. We wish him well on his future endeavors.

July 5, 2023

Tyler Hwang joins the group

Tyler (Dover-Sherborn High School ’24) has joined the group to preform metal organic framework research during the summer.

June 15, 2023

 Congratulations to Dr. Streater on a successful thesis defense

June 2, 2023

James Nyakuchena wins award at ECS Meeting

James Nyakuchena wins the best poster award at the 243rd ECS Meeting. Congratulations to him!

January 1, 2023

Dr. Huang joins Boston College

Dr. Huang joins BC with a Joint Appointment at the Schiller Institute for Integrated Science and Society and the Department of Chemistry. There are multiple postdoc positions available in her group at BC. Please contact her directly ( if you are interested in pursuing postdoc research in MOFs/COFs/Quantum Dots for solar energy conversion,

September 7, 2022

Paper accepted by Chem. Commun

Our paper on “Quantum Dot Gels as Efficient and Unique Photocatalysts for Organic Synthesis” through collaboration with Prof. Long Luo’s group  at Wayne State University is accepted into Chem. Commun. Congratulations to Luo and Huang group!

September 1, 2022

Collaborative Project Funded by the Department of Energy

This collaborative project on developing quantum dot gels for solar fuel conversion through collaboration with Prof. Stephanie Brock and Prof. Zhenfei Liu at Wayne State University is funded by Department of Energy. Congratulations to Brock, Liu and Huang groups!

August 31, 2022

Denan’s Paper Accepted

Denan’s paper on 1D π-d conjugated coordination polymers is accepted to ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces. Good job Denan!

July 25, 2002

Huang group receives support from NSF-CSDMB

This collaborative effort with Prof. Jing Gu at San Diego State University receives support from NSF-CSDM-B to investigate supported single atom catalyst for photocatalytic CO2 reduction. Congratulations to Gu and Huang research groups!

March 30, 2022

Paper Accepted into Inorganic Chemistry.

Our paper on “Postsynthetic Treatment of ZIF-67 with 5-Methyltetrazole: Evolution from Pseudo-Td to Pseudo-Oh Symmetry and Collapse of Magnetic Ordering” through collaboration with Prof. John Berry’s group at UW Madison was accepted into Inorganic Chemistry. Congratulations to Wenhui and Denan!

February 1, 2022

Daniel’s Paper Accepted into J. Phys. Chem. Lett.

Daniel’s co-first author paper on COF Excited State Dynamics through collaboration with Dr. Jian Zhang’s research group at LBNL was accepted into J. Phys. Chem. Lett. Congratulations Daniel!

January 28.2022

Jier named Wehr Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Jier was appointed by the dean of the College of Arts and Science as Wehr Distinguished Professor of Chemistry. Congratulations!

Scroll to Top